Season Premiere has New and Old Athletes on Top the Podium

The ATSX Ice Cross World Championship series kicked off in arctic temperatures at the Winterleiten Luge Centre above Judenburg in Austria. Athletes from 19 countries fought for victory on hockey blades at speeds of over 70 km/h on a course filled with waves, jumps and banked turns.

In the Women's event, reigning World Champion Veronika Windisch from Austria took home her third victory in a row on her home track, well ahead of Amandine Condroyer from France and Justine Zonne from Latvia. Followed shortly behind in standings were long time competitor, Michelle Mulder from Canada, and three Junior women gaining experience quickly. 

In the Men's event, there was a debut victory for the young Lukasz Korzestanski from Poland. On pace for the whole event, there were turbulent scenes in the final heat. After the leading Swiss, Patrick Merz, spun out and the reigning World Champion from Finland, Mirko Lahti, lost control at the final turn, Korzestanski overtook the Canadian, Robin Worling at the finish line.

There was also a new winner in the Junior division, Niklas Begander from Austria. He was joined on the podium with Stefan Vajsabel from Canada and Arthur Fort from France. Notable young athletes included Dylan Ebba of France who will be vieing for a higher finish on his home track next weekend and Wyatt Franceour from the USA once back on North American soil.

The next stop of the ATSX Ice Cross World Championship is Pra Loup, Uvernet-Fours in the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence French Alps.


Results, Men: 1. Lukazs Korzestanski (POL), 2. Robin Worling (CAN), 3. Mirko Lahti (FIN), 4. Patrik Merz (SUI), 5. Brittan Morris (USA), 6. Leevi Nakari (FIN), 7. Jonathan Merlino (FRA), 8. Martin Nahlovski (CZE), 9. Michael Urban (CZE), 10. Jack Schram (USA);

Women: 1. Veronika Windisch (AUT), 2. Amandine Condroyer (FRA), 3. Justine Zonne (LAT), 4. Virginie Schneider (BEL), 5. Alice Zenz (AUT), 6. Michelle Mulder (CAN).

Juniors: 1. Niklas Begander (AUT), 2. Stefan Vajsabel (CAN), 3. Arthur Fort (FRA), 4. Wyatt Francoeur (USA), 5. Arkadiusz Kopa (POL), Dylan Ebba (FRA).